Posted by: scrabblequeen | August 9, 2008

PU-ERH Anyone?

Today I had to get up early, grumble, grumble and drive to The City to pick The Boy up after his wild week of camping, etc. I do not enjoy driving to San Fransisco, let alone driving in S.F.! However, as it was a necessity to do the one today, I almost happily did both.

With Margaret along for company, moral support ,and enabling, I hit the road heading south by south-west duly fortified with a Latte from Java City. By a happy accident, ImagiKnit is very near to where I had to go to pick up Daniel. Darn, I had to go, didn’t I? Because there was a bit of a time-lag between pick-up time and opening time at ImagiKnit, we chanced to go into the Samovar Tea Lounge, which is kitty-corner across the intersection from the yarn store.

As we only had 15 minutes to waste fill before the door to fibery goodness opened, we chose to taste only one tea and not to indulge in any other treats at that time. I choose the type of tea, Pu-erh and then consulted our server for a recommendation on which specific blend to sample. We went with the Genghis Khan Super Horse 1206 A.D. Quite a name, eh?

The description of what to expect from this tea? “Archaic aromas of resin, tundra peat, feather grass, and ancient earth. Opulent and velvety like Gobi Desert terra firma.Sip to unbridle a tempest of thundering stallions, storming to open the gates of gustatory goodness.” Hee hee. All of the descriptions on the menu were equally flowery!

Daniel, Margaret, and I all enjoyed the Pu-erh experience. We infused the little teapot full of goodness until we ran out of hot water, about 3-4 pot’s worth in all. I feel certain the tea could have been infused at least twice more, but by now the yarn store was open, so off we went. Quite a fun and educational side-trip in The City that has a bit of everything.

ImaginKnits was everything we had hoped for. The shop was a wonderful opportunity to see and touch fibers we usually only get to see on the web. I was primed and ready for the “Wall O MMmmm”, which Margaret is posing in front of only one part of here.

I held myself in check and “only” purchased four skeins of Malabrigo worsted. Three were Whales Road

And one was Amazones. Sigh, I thought I had two more at home, but I was wrong. Those two skeins are Autum Forest. Shrug. Oh well. C’est la vie. It’s still MMMmmm, how can I complain?

I almost walked out the door before I noticed this

Hmmm? Yes, I did enter. Thank you for double checking on that!

While browsing the shelves, a skein of Colinette Jitterbug in Kingfisher colorway “fell” into my basket.

I also picked up a few skeins of black yarn (yuck) for some projects for someone I care enough about to knit black yarn for, and for my final purchase, I tucked in a ball of on-sale Tatamy Tweed cotton/acrylic blend in the “It’s A Boy” color.

Yes, I had Margaret take my picture, too. I had a great time in The City, but am most happy to be back home again out here nowheresville.

Responses

  1. A post full of tasty treats! That tea sounded SO good — and the yarn is to drool for!! I’m sure your yarn shop visit was a treat!

  2. I might be in San Francisco the first weekend in December and boy am I’m interested in finding this Samovar Tea Lounge! I’m can’t knit but I can drink tea. Glad you made it in and out of San Francisco…

  3. Sounds like a great afternoon. What’s better than a good pot of tea, good company, and touchable yarns on sale?!

  4. Looks like the drive was well worth the effort, the tea sounds amazing, but it’s too friggin’ hot here.

  5. I just got some of that tea from Teavana, I will give it a try tomorrow, and what beautiful photos your post has today!!!!

  6. One of my favorite stores ever!! Love it! Looks like you found some pretties 🙂

  7. I love Imaginknit! Lucky you! And loverly Mmmmm you picked up too!

  8. What a wonderful day! That should surely have been worth the trouble of being in the city, no? Love the yarns, and that tea set is simple and lovely. Might need to add something like that to my world…

  9. I’ve had Pu-Erh; I think it means something like “birds nest” because it’s often shaped like that. It’s definitely an aquired taste, I think. But really good for you! It’s suppose to help digestion, ward off stomach upset, help lower cholesterol levels, and more! It can be up to 50 years old before it’s drunk!
    Anyway, looks like a lovely day you had!!!

    Jamie
    (also visit me at Rose Cottage)

  10. Oh, how fun! I will definitely have to visit them both at once next time I’m in the city.


Leave a Reply

Categories

