Posted by: scrabblequeen | June 13, 2008

How Do I Miss These Things?

I just learned, while reading Stephanie’s blog, that this is National Iced Tea Month!
Stephanie found out this little tidbit while at her local library. She had a link, so of course I followed it over to the Zany Holidays blog to learn more about this fascinating subject. Having read their blip on the timing of Iced Tea month, I followed the link to Slashfood to see what additional light they could shed on this topic. So far, the discussion has mostly centered on the question Why. Why June and not July or August? So again, I followed the link and learned a little more over at prnewswire.com.

Well, no answers as to why, but I did find some fun stuff.

1. This year, during the Seventh Annual National Iced Tea Month, Americans
are encouraged to drink a tall, cool, healthful glass of iced tea every day in June.

2. Iced tea was created in America nearly 100 years ago ( I knew this already)

3. Today, 80 percent of the 2.2 billion gallons of tea consumed by Americans each year is
served over ice.

4. And of course…Not Just Good … Good For You 🙂

I make fresh tea daily and like to play around with blends for my iced tea. Right now, my favorite is probably iced Murchie’s Apricot, a flavored black tea. When it comes to hot tea, I strongly prefer mine black, however, when served iced I like a much wider variety of teas, including Tisanes or herbal infusions and green teas, too.

So share what you’re drinking this summer, please; I could use some good ideas.
Cheers to you this June, let’s let the good times roll!

Responses

  1. Mmmm!

    Zany holidays! How fun!

  2. I didn’t know either!

  3. […] to Ruth, I now know that June is National Iced Tea Month.  So while you’re feeling all patriotic and […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

