Posted by: scrabblequeen | March 27, 2008

Litera-Tea

hospital-i-tea button
Litera-Tea

This weeks posting for the Hospital-i-Tea blog-a-thon is to be “Share tea from the perspective of literature. Post a tea quote, a verse or poem, or story. Tell about a favorite tea book. “

I have read many books over the years in which tea plays a role, which makes it difficult to choose only one favorite. Many of the other blog-a-thon participants have shared book about tea,of  which I have several , and also enjoy. As many of my favorite stories were shared by others, I settled on these. First, from one of my all time favorite books, A Little Princess, by Fances Hodgeson Burnett, is the pair of scenes in the attic with Sara and her friends .

 In the first scene, Sara is very tired and hungry when she arrives in the attic to find her friend Ermengard ewaiting for her. Then they hear the other maid, Becky, being falsely accused of stealing food from the kitchen. While Ermengarde goes to get her hamper of goodies for them to share, Sara sets a “make believe” tea party into place. Her imagination makes it warm and lovely, but before they can begin their feast, the cruel Miss Minchin comes and grabs the goodies and sends Sara’s friends away.

In the second, somewhat happier scene, Sara awakens later that same evening to find her attic transformed. She calls Becky back and two of them enjoy a wonderful tea together. Here is an excerpt from that scene.

“Imagine, if you can, what the rest of the evening was like. How they crouched by the fire which blazed and leaped and made so much of itself in the little grate. How they removed the covers of the dishes, and found rich, hot, savory soup, which was a meal in itself, and sandwiches and toast and muffins enough for both of them. The mug from the washstand was used as Becky’s tea cup, and the tea was so delicious that it was not necessary to pretend that it was anything but tea. They were warm and full-fed and happy, and it was just like Sara that, having found her strange good fortune real, she should give herself up to the enjoyment of it to the utmost.”

The second tea in literature I’d like to share is the Tea Shop Mystery series, by Laura Childs. I have  seven of the eight books published so far, and I hear that number eight is on it’s way here, sent by dear friend Elizabeth in PA. I really love the way the books describe all the aspects of tea, from it’s origins and blending, to proper brewing, and more. I enjoy the variety of settings and foods, and I love that the author includes recipes in each book. Even  each title centers around some blend of tea. A fun, quick, read for a quiet afternoon, with a cuppa, of course.

tea mysteries

Responses

  1. There’s nothing like FHB and a cuppa. I’ll have to look into the other books. Thanks for recommending them!

  2. I have Gunpowder Green, and I guess I need to take it the …library?, hem, hem… because I do so little reading these days!

  3. must purchase the Laura Childs series, I went on half .com last night and ordered 10 different tea books to add to my collection!!!

  4. I love the Laura Childs books too!

  5. They look like good reads. I’ll have to keep my eyes open for them.

  6. Boy my book list is growing! Those laura childs books look great and they are going on my list.
    Enjoy…
    http://happywonderer.wordpress.com/2008/03/26/litera-tea-anne-of-green-gables/

  7. I’m looking forward to the tea shop mystery series. I need to go see Amazon and order a couple of them.

  8. Those sound like fun, I’ll look them up.

  9. A Little Princess — my all-time favorite book! I love both scenes you selected for sharing, but especially the second one. I’ve read this book many times and have it as a treasured book in my collection. Several times I have watched different movie versions of the book and they are NEVER as good as the written word!

    Thanks for sharing this! I am so glad you joined in the tea blog-a-thon and I look forward to your future posts.

    LaTeaDah

  10. those mysteries..and the teas look delilghtful!


Leave a Reply

Categories

