Posted by: scrabblequeen | December 10, 2007

Christmas Meme

I found this meme on both Anne’s and Monica’s blogs and decided to play along. It would be great fun if you play along, too, and link here so we can see all the fun answers. 🙂

1. Wrapping Paper or Gift Bags? I like both, really. Bags are great for when time or size is an issue.

2.  Real tree or artificial?  Real….my favorite is a Silver Tip or a Noble Fir

3.  When do you put up the tree? Somewhere between December 1 and 24. We are not at all consistent.

4.  When do you take down the tree?  Usually on January 2 or the nearest Saturday after that..

5.  Do you like Egg Nog? Yes, although usually not the “Adult” variety.

6.  Favorite gift received as a child? Nothing is really sticking out for me. Probably a bike, but, who knows?

7.  Do you have a nativity scene? Yes, several in fact!

8.  Hardest person to buy for? Niece and nephew.

9. Easiest person to buy for? Elizabeth, we like much of the same things.

10.  Worst Christmas gift you ever received?  Underwear! Nuf said.

11.  Mail or email Christmas Cards? Mail, definitely.

12.  Favorite Christmas Movie? I can’t choose just one. A family favorite is Muppet Christmas Carol, plus I like the animated How The Grinch Stole Christmas, and how can you not love It’s A Wonderful Life?
13.  When do you start shopping for Christmas? Whenever I see something “perfect” for someone.

14.  Have you ever recycled a Christmas present? Probably.

15.  Favorite thing to eat at Christmas? Eggnog ice cream and my friends’ homemade cookies.

16. Clear lights or colored? Both. I like clear on the windows, and love multi on the tree.

17. Favorite Christmas Song? Still, Still, Still

18. Travel or stay home at Christmas? We have never had the chance to travel at Christmas, it sounds like fun, but then I’d miss out on the Christmas Eve service…..ow.

19. Can you name all of Santa’s Reindeer? Possibly while singing the song…

20. Angel or Star on the top of the tree? Star

21. Open Christmas Eve or Morning?  Both. We open gifts on either Day or Eve as hubby’s work schedule allows. Always stockings on Christmas morn.
22.  Most annoying thing about this time of year?  Christmas Carols in October, crowds in stores, and commercials designed to make us all spoiled brats.

23. What’s the corniest family tradition you do or miss doing?  We used to go to “Aunt” and “uncles” on Chrstmas day each year. They gave everyone a brown bag with a toy in it. Rule was you HAD to play with it. I loved watching the staid old adults play with their silly toys.

24. What’s the worst thing you’ve seen related to Christmas? Widows and widowers facing Christmas alone.

25. Which looks best, theme trees or homey trees? I’m happy with the big tree being homey, and then I have my own little “chick” tree with my girlie teacup and tea pot ornaments.

26. Gingerbread or Sugar Cookies? I love both, do I really have to choose?

27. Do you like fruitcake? Yes! I used to make one for my dad each year. I don’t really like cheap store fruitcakes, but there are some really nice ones out there. Please Do Not send me your recycled fruitcakes!

Responses

  1. Love the brown bag idea! That’s so cute…

  2. Fun meme. All of my family is crazy about christmas.


Leave a Reply

Categories

