Posted by: scrabblequeen | November 17, 2007

Becky’s Socks and Help Needed

Seacost “Rain” this is more like the true color

It took a few days and a trip to the frog pond, but Becky’s socks are now well under way. I started out to knit the Bluebell Rib pattern from Sensational Knitted Socks, but the yarn did not like the pattern at all, and I can’t say I was thrilled with it either. I don’t like patterns that have a yarn over a the beginning of the round, it always creates difficulties for me, one way or another. So, after the rip-it fest, I cast on again. This time for a pair of Fluted Banister socks. Much better. The yarn and I are both happy now.
Becky’s socks 1<a

This is my time knitting with Seacoast Handpainted, and also my first time with a merino/tencel blend. It is a little splitty, reminds me of cotton that way. However, even that is less of an issue with the new pattern. Happiness is: a pair of socks that looks great great and is knitting up quickly.

I completed the sixth repeat of charts on the Stars and Hearts blanket Thursday night. Now I have to decide on what’s next. Finish? Or do a seventh repeat. Could I have a little help here, please? Right now the blanket is square. About 33 by 33 inches. If I add another repeat it will be about 33 by 40 inches. Which is better for a little one, square or rectangle?

Responses

  1. I like at least 40″ to wrap up babies – but then I’m having to swaddle my babies! Hope that helps!

  2. The socks are looking great. I am a wee bit jealous; I really must learn two socks at once, but on two circs…

    I’m not a mom, so I can’t help with baby blankie sizes. I just knit to suit my own eyes, which tends to be a rectangle. Either way, I’m sure it will be a beautiful treasure!

  3. That yarn looks gorgeous in natural light!


Leave a Reply

Categories

