Posted by: scrabblequeen | November 1, 2007

November Knitting

I’m trying hard to have a plan for this month’s knitting, really I am.  So far, it looks like this: One pair of socks for Becky, knit from the skein of Seacoast Handpainted I stashed while in Maine in September. It’s gorgeous blues and greens, and although it’s called Rain, it reminds me of the ocean, or a lake, or some land-bound water. Seriously, when there is green in the rain, I don’t want to be outside! The yarn is a fingering weight 50% merino, 50% tencel blend. It feels really nice on my skin and I can’t wait to wind it up and knit with it.

I also really, really want to finish off the Stars and Hearts Blanket that I started way back when, in the spring. It’s not hard to work on for any reason other than it is now too big to take out and about with me.  I had just about memorized the charts before it went into hibernation, now, having to keep those 3 x 5 cards in view just adds to its lack of portability.

I also have a couple of facecloths and dishcloths planned for holiday gift-giving, once of which was cast on today. I’m trying a new cotton/acrylic yarn for this one, but it’s too soon to tell if I’ll like the feel of the fabric. The skeined yarn feels quite nice, but I’ve had trouble before with soft-feeling skeined yarns which didn’t feel so good knit up. So we’ll see what happens with that. I’m going to try to do dishcloths during all my test time knitting this month. thirty minutes isn’t much for a sock, but should get some good progress on a cloth.

Responses

  1. I’m also preoccupied about holiday knitting. I’d love to see the sea yarn and your finished blanket soon.


Leave a Reply

Categories

