Posted by: scrabblequeen | October 10, 2007

Mittens, mittens, and more mittens

I’ve got my work cut out for me today catching up on all the pictures I was supposed to post but haven’t gotten around to yet. Since I actually have the afternoon free for once, I’m also hoping to get some knitting done too. First, the Purple Club fingerless mittens were completed a day or two ago…..I can’t remember anymore! I love the way the Swirl Sport knits up. Even with minimal knitting time a pair of the mittens takes a maximun of two days with this yarn. I love the color, too, and will have to get more ’cause Knitnmom is covetting it!
purple club 1
purple club 2
For this second pair of sport weights, I chose to carry the K3,P2 ribbing all the way up to where the stockinette for the palm begins. I like it much better than the pair where the pattern begins on the wrist. By the way, I got brain damage confused about the color in the original post for those mittens, The color is Lorna’s Laces Safari, not Sahara or whatever I said it was. I see many more pairs of mittens coming off the needles before the Holidays this year!
I also mentioned in a previous post that I was using my new Postal scale to divide skeins for easy use. Wanna see a picture? Good, ’cause I wanna show one. Posing on the scale are the two baby balls of Shepherd Sock in Baltic Sea. (Not the most acurate color in this picture, I’m afraid.)I’ve had extremely little knitting time for the last day or two and haven’t made much progress on those mittens. I have only added about 3 pattern repeats to each mitt, which given the size 1’s and fingering weight is what, about 1/2 inch each? Pitiful indeed.
postal scale

Leave a Reply

Categories

