Posted by: scrabblequeen | July 7, 2007

Knit or Read?

Do you have more than one “favorite” activity? I do. I like to knit, I love to read, I truly enjoy the rituals of tea. What’s a girl to do? I can read and drink tea. I can usually even knit and drink tea. (sometimes the tea gets cold) I have some issues, however, with reading and knitting, with or without tea! Some books are available on cd, which seems like a nice option, but after listening to several books recently, I’ve come to the conclusion that for me, at least, it’s just not the same. I don’t get the same satisfaction from listening to the story that I get from reading. It’s too passive in some way. I also find the reader distracts from my enjoyment somewhat as I don’t get to imagine the voices of the characters myself. The book I’m listening to right now is a good example of that. The woman who is reading this story makes all the men sound gruff and, well, weird somehow. Ugh. It’s a pretty long story, nine cd’s, and I’ve got three to go. Luckily the men don’t speak too often, or I’d go nuts. The only reason I’m so far into this book is that todays plans all got shot to heck, so I spent a lot of my day knitting and listening.

I’ve read several knitting related books lately. The Friday Night Knitting Club, The Knitter’s Circle, and currently, Back on Blosson Street. Even though the first two books deal with tragedy as much as knitting, I truly enjoyed reading them. I had the real deal in my hands. Paper and ink, my kind of reading. Back on Blossom Street is less satisfying as a knitting book, as it has much less to do with yarn and knitting than one might hope. It is the third book dealing with Blossom Street, and the yarn store there. I wonder if I’d like it better if I was actually reading it instead of listening. Maybe. Maybe not. What are you all reading this summer? My next read is Three Cups of Tea.

Responses

  1. I have a hard time with audiobooks too – but I enjoy it more than knitting to tv. Sometimes I have to rewind and listen again when I realize my mind has wandered. Big exception – YarnHarlot’s recent audiobook – I really, really, really enjoyed it. Of course, it’s not a work of fiction so there were no voices to distract me (I can’t handle how most women ‘voice’ men).
    I’m really enjoying downloading books onto my PDA though – I can even read in the dark without a flashlight!! 🙂

  2. I knit and read sometimes, but it’s stockinette and textbooks. Easy knitting and heavy reading. 🙂

  3. I love audio books, but I am very fussy about the reader and author. Most of JD Robbs stuff is fine, Diane Mott Davidson, Janet Evanowich, Agatha Christie, Sue Grafton.

    See the trend here? Women authors, mysteries well plotted, interesting characters and fast action.

    I found that Romances frankly suck. If you are going to try those, go for abridged, then all the navel gazing scense, as well as the “if I had only known” have been cut.

    I am ok with women voicing men, I find the other way around is worse. I can listen to gruff men, but I can’t stand to have all the women’s voices whine.


Leave a Reply

Categories

