Posted by: scrabblequeen | March 27, 2007

The Inside out of it all

Right. So things are really well with the tea cozy. I finished the “outside” of the cozy. Which is to say, that unless I really want that inner, insulating layer I could say it was altogether done. Believe me, I was tempted to do just that. I placed it on my blue teapot, and admired it. I placed it on the slightly larger white tea pot, and admired it. I called to the poor male members of my family, and we all “admired” it. Which is to say they humored me by coming in to have a look….No one mentioned anything at all odd about the cozy. I decided to buckle down and make that inner insulating liner. After all, that is the point of a cozy, yes? To keep the contents warm? So I pick up and knit my 44 stitches on the front side, and knit 3 1/2 inches of stockinette, no problem…..put that on the back cord of my magic loop, and get ready to pick up and knit 44 across the back side. Oops! There is no ridge of lovely stitches waiting there to pick up! AAcckk. How did that happen? How could all of us look at that “finished” outer layer and not see the rows of missing garter stitch? Well, by now the thing is 3/4 done, and no going back due to bad yarn issues….so nothing else to do but plow forward. Sigh. It’s a good thing this cozy was a “practice” model, meant for me to make sure I could do a good job before making one for a gift. In any event, the 220 cozy is complete now, such as it is. I find the photo on the pot does not do it justice . The loverly lattice pattern does not show well in the photo at all. And now, for your viewing enjoyment, pictures of the good, the bad, and the inside and out of the thing.
220cozy

wrongsiderightsideinside n out

Leave a Reply

Categories

