Posted by: scrabblequeen | January 28, 2007

Wow, actual knitting news.

It has been a frustrating week for knitting. I was going to town on the dishcloth until I got to the part with the yarn overs. I have knit and tinked, knit and frogged, and finally come to the conclusion that I just don’t like the way the cloth looks when I get to the part with the “light rays”. One set of holes looks fine, nice and tight, but the other set, made with a different method of decreases, looks loose and sloppy.  So today, finally, a decision has been made. I’m going to frog it all the way back to before the light rays start, and make up my own pattern for them which does not include holes or yarn overs at all.

The Dancing socks were also giving me pause, as the lacey pattern looks very cool, but it also looked like it might be very loose. I was seriously considering frogging those and starting over with a different pattern.  However, after a try-on today, I have opted to continue….yeah, no start over! I am ready to start the heel flap on both socks.

Lastly, I cast on another little red merino ribbed hat. The last one was intended as a gift for a friend whose baby was born in mid December. When it was done, I thought maybe it was a little small so I gave it to someone in one of my childbirth classes whose babies are not yet born. Hopefully the new hat, expanded by 8 stitches, and knit longer before decreases, will fit little Danielka better. 🙂

Responses

  1. 🙂 Can’t wait to see your rendition of the light rays.
    A


Leave a Reply

Categories

