Posted by: scrabblequeen | August 28, 2013

Mid Year Up-date

imageHello out there. Remember me?

It’s been quite a while since I last posted…since January 1, to be exact. And while there is no way I can share all that has happened in that time, I will try to give a few highlights.

January through May I was busy taking a college level course called Perspectives on The World Christian Movement. I was also serving on the coordinating team for the class….and acting as host. Whew! That was a huge amount of work, but well worth the effort as I actually completed the course and earned my certificate. Yay!

During the same time period, I was also taking another challenging course AND tutoring about 20 hours/week.
By the end of the school year I was beat and ready for a rest. Usually summer is good for that, but not this year. My friends, who were the Program Directors for camp this year, asked me to be ‘Craft Lady’ for all of the in house camps this summer, and I said ‘yes’. Loads of fun, but not so restful. :-)

Between camps, and in fact all spring long, I was busy hosting overnight guests who were either speakers for our class, visiting missionaries, or occasionally just friends or family. What did I learn from all this? No more 3 yr olds for me! Heck, even the 6 and 7 year olds gave me a run for my money.

In July, Dearest and I celebrated our 30th anniversary with a little party and vow renewal ceremony. It was a truly wonderful evening and very meaning for us. In the last 30 years we’ve had it all…better and worse, richer and poorer….far more than we ever imagined when we first made those promises!

Oh, yes…and we are now officially ‘empty nesters’ as the youngest graduated from college (suma cum laud…brag, brag) and found himself a job and a place to live not far from the school, while Mr. Airman, who was able to spend a month with us earlier this year, was sent to Korea. Four grown sons in four vastly different places in their lives, and in four different locations. Good thing I still have the dogs!

I’ve also knit a few things, read a few books, travelled a few miles, and cried a few ( ok, truth, a lot) of tears this year. My step-mother, Jean, who had been fading for the last few years, passed away this month, just shy of her 91st birthday.

So, that’s my story. What have YOU been up to while I was away?


Responses

  1. Good to hear the summary. Sounds like you have had both a full filling and extremely busy year thus far. Even a monthly update would be good so that we know you are ok.

    Condolences on the passing of your Mother-in-law. From everything you said, she was someone special.

    • Quick correction, before my MIL thinks she missed something…it was my step-mom who passed away.

  2. Well hello there. You have been busy! 4 all over the place. It’s nice that they have something to keep them all busy where they are. Congrats on 30 years. Love that photo of the two of you!!
    Too much going on to recap here for sure. The one thing that is staring me in the face on the other side of the couch is my son in law and daughter spending their last few days together before SIL deploys to Afghanistan…
    Blessings!

  3. I’m so sorry you lost your stepmother. Congratulations on the new graduate and your wedding-vows renewal!

  4. Yeah for blogging! Good for you! I had no idea Jean passed away, I’m sorry to hear that!

  5. What a full year – and it’s only the end of August. Congrats on the certifications, graduation, vow renewal and condolences. Whew.

  6. It’s so good to see you back! Wow, that’s a busy year! Congrats on the new grad and sympathy for the loss of your stepmother.

    I’ve been working, traveling, working…some crafting as well. Time goes by so fast.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

