Posted by: scrabblequeen | August 23, 2012

Ten Books I Read Over and Over and Over

Oops…life is super busy so I missed a day, again. No worries, though, as I know it will not be the last time, and it certainly wasn’t the first!

So, moving along…I’m not going to try to tackle Ten Books The World Should Read, by Canadian authors or any others. Seriously, that sounds like way to much work for this poor little brain to handle just now.

Today’s list, Books I have read again and again, and WILL read again and again in the future, no doubt.

Lord of The Rings (the whole series) by JRR Tolkein

Little Women by Louisa May Alcott

A Little Princess by Fances Hodgson Burnett

Dragon Riders of Pern (whole series) by Anne McCaffrey

The Bible

Pride and Predjudice by Jane Austen

The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett

My Brother Michael by Mary Stewart

The Once and Future King by T.H. White

The Chronicles of Prydain (whole series) by Lloyd Alexander

How about you? What do YOU read over and over?

Responses

  1. Little Women is one of the books I can read more than once. There are also the books by Sophie Kinsella; Harry Potter; and an obscure favourite of mine, Things My Girlfriend and I Have Argued About by Mil Millington.

  2. A Little Princess is new to me, as is My Brother Michael. Off to check them out.

  3. [...] Ruth found a series of 10 Books… topics somewhere, and today’s is easy (and will allow me to ignore the baby knitting that won’t meet its deadline, the unblocked shawl that might dry rot before I get it blocked or blogged…). [...]

  4. So many books out there that I’ve never read…
    I would read over and over again, Lord of the Rings, Chronicles of Narnia, The Bible…that’s all I can come up with right now.

  5. I read certain children’s books to my kids over and over:
    Francis as in Bread and Jam for Frances
    Its easy to See WHY
    James and the Giant Peach, (out loud)
    The house that Jack Built

    okay now for adult reads:
    The Bean Trees
    by Kingsolver

    and
    my book of dinner prayers.

  6. I read about Pern over and over again too! My other favorites are by Connie Willis: ‘To Say Nothing of the Dog’ and ‘Blackout/All Clear’.

    Ellie’s current favorite is ‘Sarah Pain and Tall’ – particularly Chapter 8 (the one with the storm). We’ve read Chapter 8 at least three times more than we’ve read the whole book.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

