Posted by: scrabblequeen | February 23, 2008

Stitches West

All aboard! That was the sound I heard at 8:00 this morning as Margaret, her cousin Sheila, Stephanie (from WoodlandTAG), and I boarded the Amtrak Special for Stitches West.  We had a good time on the train, just us and 500 other knitters rolling down the tracks to the strains of  prizes being awarded for Raffle drawings and lots and lots of excited knitters gearing up for a day of classes and shopping and meetings with friends.

I finally got to meet Spitplice from Ravelry, and got to see all manner of awesome yarn, fiber, buttons, needles, books, and on and on…..oh my…I got sooo tired from pounding the concrete and shlepping a heavy backpack. We had a good time.

I bought a couple of skeins of handpainted from Creatively Dyed Yarns, a skein of Socks That Rock, and two skeins of Mmmmalabrigo. I fell in love with and purchased some gorgeous celtic buttons from Abbey Yarns, and even bought a hat pattern from KnitWhits. Add these to the bag of goodies we got on Stitch ‘n Ride, and call it a very good day indeed.

I totally forgot to take pictures while we were there, but did manage a couple of shots on the train ride home. Unfortunately, we had lost Stephanie somewhere in the crowds and did not get a picture to document her attendance.

Margaret and Sheila
Stitches Train 1

The Three of Us

Stitches Train 2

I didn’t get home until almost 9:00 pm, so I’m to beat to tell more or show more for now. Yawn…I’m off to bed.

Responses

  1. LUCKY!!! One of these days I’m going to go to a big Knitting Event… but I keep missing them. I arrived in London 1 day after the big Stitch N Bitch day.

    Can’t wait to here more of what you guys did and see your purchases!!

  2. Oh, how fun! Can’t wait to hear more! and see pictures of the yarn! and you lost Stephanie?!

  3. Sounds like fun! I hope to go next year! :)

  4. Can’t wait to see your yarns!! And hear more about your day!! :)

  5. I’ll second Monica… I also look forward to getting to meet some of my online friends in person!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

